Glow at Night

A walkable distance from my house is a somewhat happening place called Shirlington. It is just a couple blocks filled with restaurants, a theater, grocery store and more recently condos and more restaurants. My cousin refers to it as date-topia because on weekends it is filled with couples out on a date. “You can easily spot the married ones,” she says, “because they are the ones not talking to each other.”

One winter walk home after a night out with friends, I headed for the path that meanders along with overgrown trees, a creek, a huge dog park and industrial buildings in the distance. High above the trees one building stood out in the cold darkness. Actually it was just the sign. In bright lights is spelled out elf Storage. I laughed out loud. It my own holiday moment that  perhaps I enjoyed too much on my way home. I though maybe someone was trying to be funny, but for weeks the elf storage was shining brightly at night long after the holiday.

 

6 comments

  1. Could it be a permanent name? Fun how landmarks can emerge as we walk and observe. I like your memory, and that moon picture is just right!

    Like

  2. Reminds me of the time when the local mattress store’s sign read “SL P Country.” I had to tell my school’s Speech Language Pathologist about it!

    Like

  3. “You can easily spot the married ones,” she says, “because they are the ones not talking to each other.” I sometimes wonder if the not talking is because there is nothing to say or because you are so comfortable with one another you don’t feel the need to fill the silence.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

