SOL 14 – Hello? & The Good Pie Party

Snow day! first one of the year – finally. I had more of a blizzard vision, but I will take what I can get at this point. I have a friend in town, so it is good to have extra time to connect. Last night we made Indian food, dabbled with some tarot cards and watched the snow fall, as I tried to restrain myself from constantly checking to see if school would be closed on Wednesday. It only took until 4:30 am to call it – really? really!  Today a lazy day of sleeping in, avoiding my growing to do list, eating, not doing my SOL writing, eating some more and going to see the movie I am Not Your Negro, a documentary modern mix about James Baldwin and the history of race relations. I read some of his books years ago. Now I have
much to sit with and chew; there are many connections to Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 4.39.26 PM.pngwhat is going on in our country today. Wednesday in the am my friend heads on her way to Myrtle Beach, grateful to avoid the two to three feet of snow at home in the Berkshire mountains.

This all got me thinking about how people connect.  It all has to start with a hello, but for many folks that simple gesture requires effort. When I walk/hike on the trails near my house, I strive to make a point to say hello to everyone with varying success.  Some people are easier than others. I think it is something in their eyes and the energy they give off.

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 4.02.50 PM.png

Tomorrow I say goodbye to my friend. I am not a big goodbye sort of person. I would rather go with “so long for now.” One of my favorite books from a few years ago is The Good Bye Party. In it when a friend moves away they ask everyone to bring a pie to their grand final party. It is a mix of sweet, savory, pizza pie and more. I think it would be a fun way to end a school year in a classroom. However at my school we are not allowed to feed children. It always makes me think of those please do not feed the bears signs you see at zoos.  I agree with this in theory. How many cupcakes does one really need in life? On the other hand I think food can often make for stronger connections between people. Hmmm. I remember  back when I first discovered this book, trying to think of something for a Hello party. The best I could do was a Hello Jello Party, but that doesn’t feel quite right. The movie from today, also makes me think the world also doesn’t feel quite so right either. Perhaps a few more hellos can help make a difference.

4 comments

  1. I think you are right … more hellos will make the world a better place. Glad you had a lucky snow day, time for you, and time for your friend. Goodbyes are the worst … so long until tomorrow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

