SOL 18 – Spoon

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 7.26.15 PM

When I was twenty five
I moved to the west coast
leaving behind everyone I knew and loved.

Before I left the east coast,
I snuck into my parents house
and stole a spoon from the kitchen drawer.

It was not a fancy spoon,
but it had a distinctive pattern.
It was one of the spoons I grew up with.
It was part of how I often started my day.

I wanted something that reminded me of home
that wasn’t a photo on the fridge.
Something only I would know.

19 comments

  1. Interesting … I wonder, did your mom ever miss that spoon? Do you still have the spoon? I would have never thought to sneak a spoon to remind me of the comforts of home, but I love the idea!

    Like

  2. Beautiful thought that makes that spoon a treasure. I still have an old spatula used by my mom as I grew up and beyond. It’s pretty beat up, but I love it. I’m glad to know about your spoon. When I saw your link I thought you were going to write about Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s cute book titled Spoon. Your writing could be a picture book, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Objects carry such deep meaning. I have my mom’s back-scratcher. Silly, but every single time I use it, I think of her.

    Like

  4. My husband has that same connection to a fork. His mother was an outstanding cook; every night was special and she also served dessert. I love how you turned this into a poem. It’s poignant and whimsical. That last stanza is my favorite – great resolution.

    Like

  5. Taking a spoon is so clever. No one would have missed it in my house either. I didn’t take anything when I left, but when we were moving my mom to assisted living, I took several things that I remembered from my life with my parents. They remind me of a simpler time. Loved your poem!

    Like

  6. :/ I am realizing I am missing my spoon. Taken from when we first got married. It. Is. MISSING!!!!!!!!!!! Time to really tear up the house now.. Metal detector the front and back yard!! Interrogate my youngest who is the biggest thief of spoons in my house because if she’s not digging into mud puddles, she’s digging into flour, sugar.

    Oh dear.

    Thank you for this post. Seriously.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

